Festival Extras

The 2020 Balasaraswati/Joy Anne Dewey Beinecke Endowed Chair for Distinguished Teaching will be awarded to noted author and scholar of cultural studies Dr. Kariamu Welsh in a ceremony on July 11. Time and location TBA.

ADF will award the 2020 Samuel H. Scripps/American Dance Festival Award for lifetime achievement to acclaimed choreographer Shen Wei. Shen Wei, whose company is celebrating is 20th year since its founding at ADF, will be in residence all season as a part of the Footprints program where he will set a new ADF-commissioned work on students. The award will be presented prior to the Footprints program on July 23.

 
 
 

Tours of the ADF School

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday Mornings, June 29 – July 22 | 9:00am-10:15am
& 11:15am-12:30pm
Free and open to the public!
Afternoon tours are available upon request.
Throughout the summer, ADF School tours offer individuals, families, and community groups an insider’s perspective where you can experience the world-renowned ADF faculty, students, and musicians hard at work. These tours of the school increase your understanding of modern dance and ADF, highlighting the history of the festival up to the present day. Schedule your tour today to observe art in action as well as obtain details about the 2020 season. For more information contact Caitlyn Swett at caitlyn@americandancefestival.org or 919-684-6402.

Post Performance Discussions
Free for ticket holders!
Post Performance Discussions (PPDs) provide a unique opportunity for patrons to meet the festival artists, ask questions, and gain insight into the creators’ work and vision. PPDs take place after select evening performances throughout the summer.

Charlotte Ballet

Saturday, June 20

Abby Z and the New Utility

Wednesday, June 24

Limon Dance Company

Friday, June 26

Reggie Wilson/Fist and Heel Performance Group

Tuesday, June 30

Made in NC: Ramya S. Kapadia, Justin Tornow, Jose Velasquez, Chris Yon & Taryn Griggs

Thursday, July 2

Monica Bill Barnes & Company

Tuesday, July 7

Milka Djordjevich

Thursday, July 9

Pilobolus

Friday, July 10

A.I.M by Kyle Abraham

Tuesday, July 14

Paul Taylor Dance Company

Friday, July 17

Vertigo Dance Company

Tuesday, July 21

Footprints: Charles O. Anderson, Kimberly Bartosik, & Shen Wei

Friday, July 24